Pipe Tunes – John Dew


An excellent collection of pipe tunes from composer and piper John Drew.

John, who originally hails from Perthshire is currently living in Glasgow, he graduated with a First Class Honours Degree having completed a BMus Performance degree at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland in 2020.

This much-anticipated collection contains over 80 new compositions, including tunes played by John Drew, Ur: The Future of Our Past, The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland Traditional Music Ensemble, SIMMITRI, and Inveraray and District Pipe Band.

This collection aims to bring new tunes to the competition and folk music scenes.

All tunes composed and typeset by John Drew.

12 in stock


“I first met John when he joined Inveraray and District Pipe Band, and it was instantly evident that, despite his young years, he was very talented. Having already used some of John’s compositions in the band, it came as no surprise to me that there are many gems in this extensive collection of music.

A particular favourite of mine – Chateau Unang – which, although technically challenging, is a good free flowing Strathspey. Additionally, there are some great tunes with unusual time signatures – Mackerel Sky and Cloud 18, the latter of which we play in the band and is a catchy, memorable piece.

In all, there is enough material for all interests in the piping world, ranging from the more traditional style to the more adventurous.

To John, I say congratulations on the publication of this fine book of his compositions and you, the musician, I sincerely hope you enjoy playing them.” Stuart Liddell, 2020.

Additional information

Weight 0.250 kg